Broaden your horizons, give yourself a wider experience, meet new people and enhance your skills. Join a SILC committee and take this opportunity to be an integral part of the decision-making process.

Action Committee

Appointed by the chairperson, the Action Committee is responsible for:

• in conjunction with staff, coordinating the development of the SPIL with the CILs and submitting it to the council for approval
• compiling data and preparing an Annual Report on independent living in the stateto be submitted to the Governor, legislators, and others
• compiling data and preparing the annual report (and other reports as required) to be submitted to the Independent Living Administration
• assist with Resource Development activities
• planning and conducting marketing activities
• and other duties as assigned by the Chairperson of the Council

Members of the Action Committee:

Joshua Brown
Carissa Davis - Chair
Pat Homberg
Susie Layne
Sarah Mathis
Emily Robinson
Robert Roswall
Molly Spence
Marian Steele

Staff Support: Jerry Boyko

Administrative Committee

Appointed by the Chairperson, the Administrative Committee is responsible for:

• soliciting nominations for membership and presenting nominations to the Council
• making nominations for officers and at-large members of the executive committee
• reviewing the bylaws annually and making recommendations for amendments
• developing and implementing the strategies for monitoring the implementation of the SPIL
• and other duties as assigned by the Chairperson of the Council

Members of the Administrative Committee:

Jan Derry
Joyce Floyd
Mark Fordyce
Sandy Haberbosch
Brenda Lamkin
Beth Morrison
Nathan Parker - Chair
Kevin Smith
Vanessa VanGilder

Staff Support: Kathi Young

Advocacy Committee

Appointed by the Chairperson, the Advocacy committee is responsible for:

• coordinating and planning for the Disability Caucus
• coordinating the legislative and advocacy efforts of the Council
• educating the Council in legislative and policy matters
• coordinating the Council's interests with other agencies and organizations
• coordinating hearings and public forums necessary to carry out the duties and authorities of the Council developing and implementing strategies to maximize the cooperation, coordination, and working relationships among the CILs, the DSE, the Council, other agencies, other councils, and public or private entities determined to be appropriate by the Council and other duties as assigned by the Chairperson of the Council

Members of the Advocacy Committee:

Scott Gossard
Aaron Jones
Aaron Morris
Michelle Norweck - Chair
Marissa Sanders
Cara Price
Manuel Campos
Ariel Depp

Staff Support: Ann McDaniel

Executive Committee

Elected by the voting membership, the Executive Committee is responsible for:

• leading planning efforts of the SILC
• representing the Council in supervising SILC staff
• attending meetings and activities with individuals and groups
• speaking publicly on the SILC's behalf
• signing the State Plan for Independent Living (SPIL) on behalf of the Council
• overseeing and coordinating the work of any and all Council committees and work teams
• facilitating the development of new independent living leaders within the state

This committee is not open to outside members.

Members of the Executive Committee:

Carissa Davis - Member-at-Large
Beverley Jones - Chair
Michelle Norweck - Treasurer
Nathan Parker - Secretary
Emily Robinson - Member-at-large
Marion Steele - Vice Chair

Staff Support: Ann McDaniel


Appointed by the Executive Committee, the RYPAS Board is a standing SILC Committee and is responsible for:

• overseeing the RYPAS program
• reviewing applications for acceptance into the program based on eligibility requirements
• overseeing that RYPAS recipients are compliant with their employer obligations

This committee is not open to outside members.

Members of the RYPAS Board:

Linda Beck
Ron Brown
Delmar Davis
Beverley Jones - Chair
Nathan Parker - Vice Chair
Tamra Price
Paul Smith - Secretary
Richard Ward - DRS Representitive

Staff Support: Jerry Boyko